

# **MINUTES** of the **ANNUAL MEETING** of Mumbles Community Council held on Tuesday 13 May 2014 at 6.45pm in the Council Offices, Walters Crescent, Mumbles

THESE MINUTES ARE AS YET UNCONFIRMED

- 1.05.14 Chairman: Councillor H. Mitchell Councillors: B. Arthur, J. Beach, V. Bevan, P. Birch, A. Colburn, J. Cooper, T. Duffy, P. Erasmus, M. Jones, G. Kaminaris, L. Tyler-Lloyd & P. Whittaker
- **2.05.14** Apologies: Councillor: D. Dorsett, E. Morgan & T. Scales

No Apologies: N/A

#### 3.05.14 TO RECEIVE DISCLOSURES OF PERSONAL INTEREST FROM MEMBERS IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE PROVISIONS OF THE CODE OF CONDUCT ADOPTED BY THIS COUNCIL ON 8<sup>TH</sup> APRIL 2008

None.

#### 4.05.14 Nominations for Chairman and Vice-Chairman

Only one valid nomination had been received for each position by the deadline stated in MCC's standing orders. Clerk told the Council that One Voice Wales had suggested that Council could consider suspending standing orders to allow a late nomination and he recommended to Council that they do so.

A resolution to suspend standing orders was proposed and seconded. A named vote was called for:

**For -** Cllrs: Cooper, Duffy, Erasmus, Kaminaris **Against:** Cllrs: Arthur, Beach. Bevan, Birch, Colburn, Jones, Mitchell, Tyler-Lloyd & Whittaker

The resolution was therefore **NOT PASSED** 

#### 5.05.14 Election of Chairman

Cllr Helen Mitchell was elected Chairman

#### 6.05.14 Election of Vice-Chairman

Cllr Beech was elected Vice-Chairman

# MCC Representatives

- **7.05.14** Oystermouth Historical Society –Cllr John Cooper
- 8.05.14 Ostreme Management Committee –Cllr Peggy Jones
- 9.05.14 West Cross Community Association –Cllrs Pam Erasmus & Helen Mitchell
- **10.05.14** Mumbles Development Trust Cllrs Tony Colburn & Peter Birch
- 11.05.14 One Voice Wales -
  - (One of) Cllrs John Beach, John Cooper. Pam Erasmus & Tony Colburn
- **12.05.14** Town/Community Council's Forum Chairman & Cllrs Tony Colburn, John Cooper & Pam Erasmus

## **13.05.14** Appointment of Committees

The clerk reported that most councillors had responded. All committees have sufficient numbers. Cllr Scales was added to the Development Committee

## 14.05.14 Chairman's Report 2013/14

A copy of this report was circulated before the meeting.

It was proposed to approve this report. A named vote was called for:

**For -** Cllrs: Arthur, Beach. Bevan, Birch, Colburn, Duffy, Jones, Kaminaris, Mitchell, Tyler-Lloyd & Whittaker **Against:** Cllrs: Cooper & Erasmus

The resolution was therefore **PASSED** 

## **15.05.14** Report on Attendance at Meetings

Clerk circulated details of attendance of the monthly meeting of Council. He explained that he could do the same for Committees, but it would be time-consuming.

## 16.05.14 Committee Membership

Standing Orders state that any councilor may join any committee. To help avoid a repeat of the front loading of MCC's Standing Committees that has occurred in previous years

#### **PROPOSE** that:

"A councillor who joins any MCC Committee and votes for the selection of its Chair or Vice Chair; and then, without just cause, fails to attend at least six of that committee's next eight meetings will be considered to have acted in a biased manner during the selection process for the Chair and/or Vice Chair of the relevant committee. Acts of bias or favouritism are considered to be contrary to the democratic processes of Mumbles Community Council and against the best interest of the community it serves, accordingly any councillor acting in this manner will be referred to the Monitoring Officer." Motion Proposed by Cllr John Cooper and seconded by Cllr Terry Scales

*NB Cllr Cooper, the proposer stated that this motion is not intended to result in an amendment to standing orders.* 

A named vote was called for:

For - Cllrs: Cooper, Duffy & Erasmus

**Against:** Cllrs: Arthur, Beach. Bevan, Birch, Colburn, Jones, Kaminaris, Mitchell, Tyler-Lloyd & Whittaker

The resolution was therefore **NOT PASSED** 

## **17.05.14** Report of the Honours Working Group

**RESOLVED** to give the Honour of Mumbles to Mr John Bollom

It was proposed that Mr George Kyrillou be given the Honour of Mumbles.

A named vote was called for:

**For -** Cllrs: Arthur, Birch, Colburn, Jones, Kaminaris, Mitchell & Tyler-Lloyd

Against: Cllrs: Beach, Cooper, Duffy, Erasmus & Whittaker

Abstain: Cllr Bevan

The resolution was therefore **PASSED**